2013 Faculty


Guest Faculty

Therese B. Bevers, MD
Professor, Clinical Cancer Prevention
Medical Director, Cancer Prevention Center
University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Sunil S. Badve, MD
Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and Department of Internal Medicine.
Director, Translational Genomics Core, IUSCC
Director of Research Immunohistochemistry
IU Health Pathology Laboratory
Indiana University
Indianapolis, IN

Karen Gelmon, MD
Professor, Medicine, University of British Columbia
Medical Oncologist, Department of Medical Oncology
Vancouver Centre, BC Cancer Agency
Vancouver, BC

Daniel F. Hayes, MD
Stuart B. Padnos Professor of Breast Cancer Research
Clinical Director, Breast Oncology Program
University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
Ann Arbor, MI

John Mackey, MD
Professor, Medical Oncology
Department of Oncology
University of Alberta
Cross Cancer Institute
Edmonton, AB

Funda Meric-Bernstam, MD
Professor, Department of Surgical Oncology, Division of Surgery;
Medical Director, Khalifa Institute for Personalized Cancer Therapy,
The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Sandhya Pruthi, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

May Lynn Quan, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery and Oncology, University of Calgary
Surgical Lead, Calgary Breast Health Program
Foothills Medical Centre
Calgary, AB

Christine Simmons
Medical Oncology, BC Cancer Agency
Vancouver, BC


*Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Eitan Amir, MD*
Philippe Bedard, MD*
Jean Francois Boileau, MD*
Nadia Califaretti, MD
Martin Chang, MD*
Caroline Chung, MD*
Stephen Chia, MD*
Tulin Cil, MD*
Gregory Czarnota, MD*
Andrea Eisen, MD*
Christine Elser, MD”*
Sandy Fawcett, NP
Anthony Fyles, MD*
Sonal Gandhi, MD*
Ralph George, MD*
Wedad Hanna, MD*
Claire Holloway, MD*
Derek Muradali, MD*
Anne O’Neill, MD*
Supriya Kulkani, MD*
Wey Leong, MD*
Kathy Pritchard, MD*
Yasmin Rahim, MD*
Eileen Rakovitch, MD*
Michael Reedijk, MD*
Shail Verma, MD
Ellen Warner, MD*
David G. Warr, MD*
Frances Wright, MD*

Organizing Committee

*Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Philippe Bedard, MD*
Caroline Chung, MD*
Martin Chang, MD*
Wedad Hanna, MD*
Ruth Heisey, MD*
Eileen Rakovitch, MD*
Yasmin Rahim, MD*
Melinda Wu, MD*

Course Directors

Jaime Escallon, MD*
Sunil Verma, MD*

Faculty & Planning Committee Disclosure Declaration

It is the policy of the University of Toronto, Faculty of Medicine, Office of Continuing Education and Professional Development to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor in all its individually accredited or jointly accredited educational programs. Speakers and/or planning committee members, participating in University of Toronto accredited programs, are expected to disclose to the program audience any real or apparent conflict(s) of interest that may have a direct bearing on the subject matter of the continuing education program. This pertains to relationships within the last FIVE (5) years with pharmaceutical companies, biomedical device manufacturers, or other corporations whose products or services are related to the subject matter of the presentation topic. The intent of this policy is not to prevent a speaker with a potential conflict of interest from making a presentation. It is merely intended that any potential conflict should be identified openly so that the listeners may form their own judgments about the presentation with the full disclosure of facts. It remains for the audience to determine whether the speaker’s outside interests may reflect a possible bias in either the exposition or the conclusions presented.